Down the Halls

Come down the Hall with Tom, Michale, Thomas, Lizzie, And Emma Grace

Hold on Tight March 28, 2007

Filed under: Kids,Life — michalelhall @ 2:56 am

The other day I was in the car with my kids and we were on going shopping. I made the comment that the girls would have to stay with me, but Thomas could go to a store by himself (I was just going to be next door). Lizzie didn’t like my answer, she thinks I sometimes group her with Emma and treat her too young. I then explained to her that Thomas “looks” older than he is and I didn’t think I had to worry as much about someone trying to hurt or take off with him. I told her young girls were more likely targets of that sort of thing. I sometimes struggle with how much freedom to give my children. I don’t want to shelter them, but I don’t want them to be harmed in any way either. Thomas and Lizzie are always telling me that their friends get to do stuff that I won’t let them do. How often did I say that to my parents?

Well, a few days later Lizzie stayed the night at a friend’s house. She has been there many times before and I completely trust this family. They live in a very nice neighborhood that is sort of a gated community(there is a fence that goes all around the subdivision). The type of place where you think nothing could happen. The girls were playing outside in a creek that runs through this neighborhood a little ways form the house. They noticed these two guys going door to door (this neighborhood has no solicitation) and they started to go home. The guys were between them and the house so they ducked in the woods to try to get home. The two guys started to follow them into the woods. The girls got scared and finally found their way home by crawling under fences and going into neighboring subdivisions. Every time the two guys saw them they would hide behind bushes and trees. Needless to say by the time they got home they were pretty shaken up. The mom decided to call the police (the neighborhood watch had already called). The girls had to make a statement and the guys were picked up. No charges could be pressed because they didn’t really do anything wrong. They were however taken to the station. Hopefully that scared them enough. I know God was in control of the whole situation and I am so grateful that no harm came to Lizzie.

I am so thankful that my children are bathed in prayer daily. Not only do Tom and I pray for our children, but I know both my parents and Tom’s parents daily pray for my children. They couldn’t ask for better grandparents. I so believe in the power of prayer. Now I have a choice. Do I continue to let her have some freedom or do I worry about her all the time and not let her have any freedom. I know I have to find that balance. She is growing into a Godly young lady and I want her to be well equipped when she is on her own. So for now, I might hold on a little tighter and watch a little closer and be a little more careful, and know no matter what God is in control of all my kids lives. So, I trust Him to take care of all of us. Tonight I thank God for each of my children and for the blessings each of them bring to our family.

 

One Response to “Hold on Tight”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    Hey Michale!
    I just wanted to say welcome to the blogging world. I’m fairly new at it, too, but find it very inspirational so far.

    What a scary story about Lizzie! We had a scary something happen with one of our boys late last year, too. A huge reminder that we must be so very careful and watchful. I’ll be checking back in on you some time. I LOVE your blog template, by the way. Great colors!


Leave a Reply

